You are here

Framingham Resident Elected Vice-Chair of MassBay Community College Board of Trustees

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

WELLESLEY HILLS, MA (June 20, 2012) – At its June meeting yesterday, the Massachusetts Bay Community College (MassBay) Board of Trustees unanimously re-elected Dr. Glenn C. Rowe as Chair and Framingham resident Pam Richardson as Vice-Chair of the Board.

Pam Richardson is elevated to Vice-Chair after serving on the MassBay Board of Trustees for 10 months. She was appointed by Governor Deval Patrick in September, 2011. As Vice-Chair, Ms. Richardson will chair the Finance, Personnel & Audit Committee.

MMs. Richardson served as a member of the Massachusetts House of Representatives from 2007-2011 representing 11 precincts in the Town of Framingham. As a legislator she was known as a strong supporter of public higher education and was an active member of the Higher Education Legislative Caucus. Prior to being elected to the House of Representatives Ms. Richardson served as a member of the Framingham School Committee. She was first elected in 2003 and was named Vice-Chair in 2006.

“I am grateful to be entrusted with this leadership opportunity by my Board colleagues,” said Ms. Richardson. “I look forward to lending my support as MassBay continues its important work preparing students for sustainable careers and providing economic development opportunities for MetroWest businesses and industries.”

Dr. Glenn Rowe was re-elected to his second one-year term as Chair. He has served on the Board since 2009, having been appointed by Governor Patrick. He earned his Associate Degree in Biotechnology from MassBay in 1999 before attaining his bachelor’s degree from Brandeis, and his Masters Degree and Ph.D. in Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology from Yale University. Today, Dr. Rowe is an Instructor in the Department of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, and in the Cardiovascular Institute at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.

The Board also approved MassBay’s five year strategic plan at yesterday’s meeting, the first under President John O’Donnell.