You are here

Placement Testing

Coronavirus/COVID-19 Pandemic: Service Update

MassBay’s Placement Testing has moved to a remote format using Accuplacer and WebEx during this time of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Students can satisfy the Placement Testing requirement if they have earned a 2.7 GPA in high school or have previously completed college-level coursework in English and Math. You may be eligible for a waiver for one or more sections of the Placement Test. To see if you qualify, you will need to submit copies of your high school or college transcripts to the Admissions Office prior to testing.  You can email documents to the Admissions Office at Admissions@massbay.edu.

If you do not meet the testing waivers, you can register to complete the Placement Test in a remote format.

Requirements for Remote Placement Testing

The new format for Placement Testing at MassBay will be using WebEx and a shared screen function. Students will need to have computer and internet access as well as the following:

  1. A desktop or laptop with a web cam and audio capabilities. Unfortunately, other devices such as cellphones, iPads, and other tablets will not work.
  2. Sit in a quiet place where you will be undisturbed while testing.
  3. Clear a workspace for your monitor, mouse, keyboard, blank scratch paper, and pencil. All other items must be removed from your table/desk.
  4. Personal calculators are not allowed during the exam. Accuplacer will provide a pop-up calculator during the test when appropriate.
  5. Be sure to have your photo ID ready. You will need to show it to your proctor.

Before the exam, you will be contacted by email with step-by-step instructions for you to follow to access the Accuplacer test.

Priority testing will be given to students that are applying to closed programs, such as Nursing, health science programs, Automotive, etc, students registering for an English or Math course for Summer session, and students who had a previous testing appointment in March or April that was canceled due to COVID-19.

Fall 2021 Course Enrollment

Students seeking to begin classes at MassBay in the fall, will have an opportunity to complete placement testing during May, June, July and August. As we continue to monitor the changes and guidelines set by the college, we will publish additional information and ask that you check MassBay’s website for ongoing COVID-19 updates.

ESL Placement Testing

Students who are non-English speakers, can take the English as a Second Language (ESL) test, which includes sections on writing, reading, and language usage and is approximately three hours long. ESL students may also take the math placement test. Those interested in our Community ESL program should contact ESL@massbay.edu and attend a placement test and information session with the Center for Corporate and Community Education (CCE). Please visit Community ESL for more information.

Please make an appointment to complete Placement Testing at MassBay.

Placement Testing Schedule

Register for Placement Test

REGISTER FOR PLACEMENT TEST

Student ID Number Required. It is in your acceptance letter.

July 2021

Thursday, July 1, 2021, 10am

Tuesday, July 6, 2021, 10am

Wednesday, July 7, 2021, 10am

Wednesday, July 7, 2021, 1pm

Thursday, July 8, 2021, 10am

Thursday, July 8, 2021, 1pm

Monday, July 12, 2021, 10am

Monday, July 12, 2021, 1pm

Tuesday, July 13, 2021, 10am

Tuesday, July 13, 2021, 5pm

Wednesday, July 14, 2021, 10am

Wednesday, July 14, 2021, 1pm

Thursday, July 15, 2021, 10am

Thursday, July 15, 2021, 1pm

Monday, July 19, 2021, 10am

Monday, July 19, 2021, 1pm

Tuesday, July 20, 2021, 10am

Tuesday, July 20, 2021, 1pm

Wednesday, July 21, 2021, 10am

Wednesday, July 21, 2021, 1pm

Thursday, July 22, 2021, 10am

Thursday, July 22, 2021, 1pm

Monday, July 26, 2021, 10am

Monday, July 26 2021, 1pm

Tuesday, July 27, 2021, 10am

Tuesday, July 27, 2021, 1pm

Wednesday, July 28, 2021, 10am

Wednesday, July 28, 2021, 1pm

Thursday, July 29, 2021, 10am

Thursday, July 29, 2021, 1pm

August 2021

Monday, August 2, 2021, 10am

Monday, August 2, 2021, 1pm

Tuesday, August 3, 2021, 10am

Tuesday, August 3, 2021, 1pm

Wednesday, August 4, 2021, 10am

Wednesday, August 4, 2021, 1pm

Thursday, August 5, 2021, 10am

Thursday, August 5, 2021, 1pm

Monday, August 9, 2021, 10am

Monday, August 9, 2021, 1pm

Tuesday, August 10, 2021, 10am

Tuesday, August 10, 2021, 1pm

Wednesday, August 11, 2021, 10am

Wednesday, August 11, 2021, 1pm

Thursday, August 12, 2021, 10am

Thursday, August 12, 2021, 1pm

Monday, August 16, 2021, 10am

Monday, August 16, 2021, 1pm

Tuesday, August 17, 2021, 10am

Tuesday, August 17, 2021, 1pm

Wednesday, August 18, 2021, 10am

Wednesday, August 18, 2021, 1pm

Thursday, August 19, 2021, 5pm

Monday, August 23, 2021, 10am

Monday, August 23, 2021, 1pm

Tuesday, August 24, 2021, 10am

Tuesday, August 24, 2021, 1pm

Wednesday, August 25, 2021, 10am

Wednesday, August 25, 2021, 1pm

Thursday, August 26, 2021, 10am

Thursday, August 26, 2021, 1pm

Monday, August 30, 2021, 10am

Monday, August 30, 2021, 1pm

Tuesday, August 31, 2021, 10am

Tuesday, August 31, 2021, 1pm

More Information or Help: Placement Testing

Testing Office:

AAC@massbay.edu
Framingham — 508-270-4213
Wellesley — 781-239-2620

Students Seeking Accommodations

Students who need testing accommodations should contact the Office of Disability Resources directly at:
Framingham — 508-270-4267
Wellesley — 781-239-2234