You are here

Clubs & Organizations

Getting involved in a club or organization is a great way for you to explore your interest areas, gain valuable experiences outside of the classroom, meet your fellow students, and get connected to the MassBay community.

 

MassBay offers a wide-range of student-run campus clubs which provide opportunities to explore new social, cultural, educational and professional experiences.

 

Whatever your interests, MassBay has a student organization for you. Get involved today!

 

If you have questions about any of the clubs listed below, or you want information, email studentengagement@massbay.edu

 

Join a Club at MassBay:

Fill out the MassBay Club Interest Form!

Students who complete the above form and list the groups they want to join will be added to the club's Microsoft Team. You will receive an email and can find all groups you are a member of in your Microsoft Teams account, connected to your MassBay Credentials. You can download Teams to your laptop, or access them through a tile in OneLogin. We don't know what clubs will be returning for the Fall 2021 Semester, but if you complete the interest form, we will try to connect you with the group as they get started! 

Start a New Club at MassBay:

 MassBay New Club/Organization directions & application 

Current MassBay Student Clubs:

REGISTER RETURNING CLUBS/ORGANIZATIONS

Biotechnology Innovations Club

The Biotechnology Innovations club discusses recent innovations in Biotechnology, Gene Therapy, RNA therapeutics Genomics, Vaccine Development, and food production. The club encourages the synergistic growth and development of scientific curiosity, inquiry, and quest for discovery among MassBay Community College students through knowledge and involvement in research addressing real-world problems and discussion of recently published papers in translational biotechnology and life sciences research.

Meeting times: Mondays at 3:00pm (check Event Calendar for link)

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Nirmal Singh nsingh@massbay.edu

President - Skyler Michaud s_michaud2@massbay.edu

Business Club

The Mission of the Business Club is to enhance interest in business, encourage ethical business behavior, promote professionalism and leadership and encourage more participation in philanthropic endeavors. The Club provides an opportunity for students using learned business skills to engage in fund raisers for worthy causes and community service. The Club also provides students interested in business an opportunity to network with business professionals and leaders, to learn more about, and understand the role of business in our society.

Meeting times: Thursdays at 4:30pm (check Event Calendar for link)

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Thomas Niemi tniemi@massbay.edu

President - Pedro Garcia p_garcia6@massbay.edu 

Civic Engagement and Student Advocacy Club (CESA)

The Civic Engagement and Student Advocacy Club is dedicated to providing opportunities for students to become involved with legal, political, financial, environmental and educational issues that affect our students. CESA  will focus on increasing voter participation, enhancing civic literacy, publicizing the Living the Law Speaker Series, promoting renewable energy,  hosting the Veteran’s Day Star Event, supporting initiatives for OER resources, lobbying for fair student loan practices,  promoting employment opportunities for those interested in criminal justice and public interest careers, and facilitating opportunities for students to communicate with state representatives about legislation that affects MassBay students.

Meeting times: Thursdays @ 10am (check Event Calendar for link)
 

Club Contacts:

Advisor - Heidi Getchell-Bastien hgetchellbastien@massbay.edu

President - Sonia Hathaway s_hathaway1@massbay.edu

Creative Writing Club

The Creative Writing Club’s mission is to foster a supportive environment at MassBay for writers of any form or genre to create, share, workshop, and showcase their writing.

Meeting times: Thursdays 2pm-3:15pm (check Event Calendar for link)

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Matt Walsh mwalsh@massbay.edu

Cyber Security Club

The Cyber Security Club provides an opportunity for students of all majors who have a vested interest in cyber security in all aspects of the field from its history to modern day trends. The club will focus both on educating members concerning different concepts of information and cyber security and application in hands-on group projects and collegiate cyber competitions.

Meeting times: Thursdays 2-3pm (check Event Calendar for link)

Club Contacts:

Advisor - Shamsi Moussavi smoussavi@massbay.edu

President - Victoria Caruso v_caruso@massbay.edu

Equality Alliance

The mission of the Equality Alliance is to provide the MassBay community a safe space to be themselves and provide awareness and education about issues facing the LGBTQ+ community in the local area and in the world.

Meeting times: TBD
 

Club Contacts:  

Advisor – Dustin Gerstenfield dgerstenfield@massbay.edu 

Gamer’s Guild

The Massbay Gamer’s guild is dedicated to fostering a community at Massbay through games of all sorts. It’s our mission to ensure members of our club have fun and make friends through the games that we all enjoy or play. The club is representative of all kinds of Gamers, whether you play Tabletop Games, Board Games, Video Games, Card Games, or just really like Rock, Paper, and Scissors.

Meeting times: Tuesdays @ 12:20-2pm (check Event Calendar for link)

Club Contacts:  

Advisor — Sean Fortney sfortney@massbay.edu 

President — Sunny Chaiyaruk c_chaiyaruk@massbay.edu

Human Services Club

The Human Services club is an organization to have students meet with Human Services professionals and other students interested in the Human Services Field. The club does a variety of things such as go to conferences, attend special events, meet professionals, raise money for causes, fundraise for the scholarship fund for Human Service students at MassBay and work together for the greater good.

Meeting times: TBD
 

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Elizabeth Watson ewatson@massbay.edu

International Club

The club serves MassBay students by promoting tolerance and acceptance amongst different cultures and lifestyles present in our student population. We are hoping to create awareness of the issues that international students are affected.

Meeting times: TBD

International Lunch Hours in Fall 2021 (check Event Calendar for link):

  • November 5 @ 12pm - UGANDA
  • December 3 @ 12pm - BARBADOS

Club Contacts:

Advisor - Claudia Ortiz cortiz@massbay.edu

President - Rebecca Lorentzen r_lorentzen@massbay.edu

iWARP Club

The iWARP (internet of things, Wearables, Arduino, Robotics, and Raspberry Pi) Club provides students the opportunity to learn and work on hands-on multidisciplinary projects using physical computing. Students are encouraged to experiment with new ideas and express their creativity by building interactive physical systems using software and hardware that allows you to sense and respond to the physical environment. No previous experience required! Students will have the opportunity to work on a state-of-the-art lab designing and developing projects of their choice. They will be able to learn how to use IoT (Internet of Things) devices, wearable technologies, microcontrollers (Arduino & Micro:Bit), robotic components, and/or Raspberry Pi (RPi) mini computers. Students will also have access to a variety of equipment like sensors, LEDs, cameras, motors, computer networking equipment, and IoT devices such as Amazon Alexa, Google Home, wireless speakers, IP cameras, environmental sensors, Wi-Fi lights & outlets, home control systems, etc. Students from any discipline are encouraged to join, and learn how to create cool projects that use some or all of these components.

Meeting times: Thursdays @ 1pm (Hybrid Meetings in Room 148 or check Event Calendar for link)
 

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Tony Sena gsena@massbay.edu

President - Eric Hormeku e_hormeku@massbay.edu

MassBay Film Society

The MassBay Film Society provides students with a chance to view and discuss movies of all types as well as to provide an opportunity to learn about and engage in making films.

Meeting times: TBD

Club Contacts:

Advisor - Richard Williams rwilliams@massbay.edu

MassBay Veterans Club

The purpose of this organization is to unite students with the common goal of looking after the personal, academic and social wellbeing of MassBay Veterans of the United States Armed Services.  The club is open to Veterans, National Guard, Reservists, Active Duty, and spouses/family members.

Meeting times: TBD

Club Contacts:

Advisor — John Martin jmartin@massbay.edu 

Nature Club

The Nature club brings together students to enjoy the beauty of nature and help to preserve it. Our goal is to enjoy nature through hiking, camping, and other fun activities! We also want to do our part to help in its preservation through volunteer work.

Meeting times: TBD
 

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Dennis Walsh dwalsh@massbay.edu

Psychology Club

The Psychology Club will provide students who have an interest in psychology a chance to discuss ideas and topics and find pathways in the field

Meeting times: Tuesdays @ 2pm (check Event Calendar for link)
 

Club Contacts:

Advisor - Derek Tran dtran1@massbay.edu

President - Keith Miller k_miller17@massbay.edu

Rotaract Club

The Rotaract club provides students with the opportunity to exchange ideas with leaders in the community, develop leadership and professional skills, and have fun through service. The Rotaract Club provides students with professional development opportunities in conjunction with the Wellesley Rotary Club and through providing service to the community.

Meeting times: Fridays @ 1pm (check Event Calendar for link)
 

Club Contacts:

Advisor - Julie Ginn jginn@massbay.edu

President - Keith Miller k_miller17@massbay.edu

Unified Sports Club

Group of people supporting each other while playing sports and have fun. Helping each other out with learning a sport. Helping students with and without disabilities. Have games and possibly find another college clubs like this!

Meeting times: Monday and Wednesday @ 12:30 in the gym 

Club Contacts:

Advisor - Pheobe Bustamente pbustamente@massbay.edu 

President - Radley Theolien r_theolien@massbay.edu