You are here

Clubs & Organizations

Getting involved in a club or organization is a great way for you to explore your interest areas, gain valuable experiences outside of the classroom, meet your fellow students, and get connected to the MassBay community.

 

MassBay offers a wide-range of student-run campus clubs which provide opportunities to explore new social, cultural, educational and professional experiences.

 

Whatever your interests, MassBay has a student organization for you. Get involved today!

 

If you have questions about any of the clubs listed below, or you want information, email studentengagement@massbay.edu

 

Join a Club at MassBay:

Fill out the MassBay Club Interest Form!

Students who complete the above form and list the groups they want to join will be added to the club's Microsoft Team. You will receive an email and can find all groups you are a member of in your Microsoft Teams account, connected to your MassBay Credentials. You can download Teams to your laptop, or access them through a tile in OneLogin. We don't know what clubs will be returning for the Fall 2022 Semester, but if you complete the interest form, we will try to connect you with the group as they get started! 

Start a New Club at MassBay:

 MassBay New Club/Organization directions & application 

Current MassBay Student Clubs:

REGISTER RETURNING CLUBS/ORGANIZATIONS

 

Alphatesters

The purpose of this organization is to allow students to learn game engines and program their game. Our goal is to program a simple game and learn different features about game engines during the process. 

Meeting Times: Thursdays 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm in W303

Club Contacts: 

Advisor — Matthew Obetz mobetz@massbay.edu  

President — Dongju Park d_park@massbay.edu  

Biotechnology Innovations Club

The Biotechnology Innovations club discusses recent innovations in Biotechnology, Gene Therapy, RNA therapeutics Genomics, Vaccine Development, and food production. The club encourages the synergistic growth and development of scientific curiosity, inquiry, and quest for discovery among MassBay Community College students through knowledge and involvement in research addressing real-world problems and discussion of recently published papers in translational biotechnology and life sciences research.

Meeting times: Hybrid every Thursday at 3pm.

In-person Location: Biotechnology Office in room 536A

Virtual Location: Join Zoom Meeting

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Nirmal Singh nsingh@massbay.edu

President — Angel Fox a_fox4@massbay.edu  

Vice President — Frank Abbott f_abbott@massbay.edu 

Officers — Robert Huttig r_huttig@massbay.edu 

                  Heather Keith h_keith1@massbay.edu

Business Club

The Mission of the Business Club is to enhance interest in business, encourage ethical business behavior, promote professionalism and leadership and encourage more participation in philanthropic endeavors. The Club provides an opportunity for students using learned business skills to engage in fund raisers for worthy causes and community service. The Club also provides students interested in business an opportunity to network with business professionals and leaders, to learn more about, and understand the role of business in our society.

Meeting times: TBD

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Reginald Pierre-Charles rpierrecharles@massbay.edu

President — Pedro Garcia p_garcia6@massbay.edu

Cheese Club

Do you believe life is better with EVERYTHING CHEESE! Do you like trying new food items from different cultures? Then this club is for you! Can't have dairy? That's fine, we have a dairy free option to enjoy. 

Meeting times: Monthly on Wednesdays 12:00pm in The Alumni Board Room W219 (See Event Calendar for details)

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Aaron Riobe ariobe@massbay.edu

President — Micaela Burns m_burns17@massbay.edu 

Civic Engagement and Student Advocacy Club (CESA)

The Civic Engagement and Student Advocacy Club is dedicated to providing opportunities for students to become involved with political, legal, and educational issues that affect college students. CESA hosts a Constitution Day event every fall, a Virtual Coffee Chat for elected officials every spring, and campus-wide forums every semester to discuss current events. CESA also organizes voter registration initiatives, coordinates political science internships, and promotes employment opportunities for those interested in public service.

Meeting times: 11am on Fridays through Microsoft Teams

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Heidi Getchell-Bastien hgetchellbastien@massbay.edu

President — Henry Brill h_brill@massbay.edu 

Creative Writing Club

The Creative Writing Club’s mission is to foster a supportive environment at MassBay for writers of any form or genre to create, share, workshop, and showcase their writing.

Meeting times: Writing meetings every Thursdays 1-2:15pm over WebEx

Workshop meetings TBD. Meetings are scheduled via Slack

*Click here for the Creative Writing Club website*

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Matt Walsh mwalsh@massbay.edu

President — James Gillihan j_gillihan@massbay.edu

Cyber Security Club

The Cyber Security Club provides an opportunity for students of all majors who have a vested interest in cyber security in all aspects of the field from its history to modern day trends. The club will focus both on educating members concerning different concepts of information and cyber security and application in hands-on group projects and collegiate cyber competitions.

Meeting times: Weekly on Tuesdays from 2-3pm

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Shamsi Moussavi smoussavi@massbay.edu

President — Zachary Beaudet   z_beaudet@massbay.edu  

Vice President — Robert Huttig r_huttig@massbay.edu  

Engineering Club

The Engineering Club has the common goal of expanding student skills and knowledge of the engineering disciplines. Participants discuss, test, and prototype projects of interest to the current club members. Current project: Robotic Arm to assist 3D printers. Join the discord group and introduce yourself!

Meeting times: TBD

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Tracey Vincent tvincent@massbay.edu 

President — Cody Harris c_harris18@massbay.edu 

Vice President — Tomas Plasencia t_plasencia@massbay.edu

Treasurer — Steven Hopkins s_hopkins1@massbay.edu

Secretary — Yemisrach Hopkin y_hopkin@massbay.edu

Pride Alliance

The mission of the Pride Alliance is to provide LGBTQ+ members of the MassBay community a safe space to be themselves and provide awareness and education about the issues facing the LGBTQ+ community in the local area and in the world. Allies welcome too! 

Meeting times: Every other Thursday at 1:30pm in Conference Room W503. Join Discord here.

Club Contacts:  

Advisor — Dustin Gerstenfield dgerstenfield@massbay.edu

President — Henry Brill h_brill@massbay.edu  

Games Club

The MassBay Games Club is dedicated to fostering a community at MassBay through games of all sorts. Our mission to ensure members of our club have fun and make friends through the games that we all enjoy or play. The club is representative of all kinds of students, whether you play Tabletop Games, Board Games, Video Games, Card Games, or just really like Rock Paper Scissors.

Meeting times: Virtual every other Thursday at 6pm via Discord

Club Contacts:  

Advisor — Sean Fortney sfortney@massbay.edu 

President — Sunny Chaiyaruk c_chaiyaruk@massbay.edu

Vice President — Eli Postnikov e_postnikov@massbay.edu

International Club

The club serves MassBay students by promoting tolerance and acceptance amongst different cultures and lifestyles present in our student population. We are hoping to create awareness of the issues that international students are affected.

Meeting times: TBD

International Lunch Hours in Fall 2022: All lunch hours will take place from 12-1pm and have a virtual option via WebEx

Mexico — 10/7 in the Library Atrium

Taiwan — 11/4 in the Library Atrium

Botswana — 12/2 in Alumni Boardroom W219

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Claudia Ortiz cortiz@massbay.edu

President — Paulina Guerra p_guerra2@massbay.edu 

iWARP Club

The iWARP (internet of things, Wearables, Arduino, Robotics, and Raspberry Pi) Club provides students the opportunity to learn and work on hands-on multidisciplinary projects using physical computing. Students are encouraged to experiment with new ideas and express their creativity by building interactive physical systems using software and hardware that allows you to sense and respond to the physical environment. No previous experience required! Students will have the opportunity to work on a state-of-the-art lab designing and developing projects of their choice. They will be able to learn how to use IoT (Internet of Things) devices, wearable technologies, microcontrollers (Arduino & Micro:Bit), robotic components, and/or Raspberry Pi (RPi) mini computers. Students will also have access to a variety of equipment like sensors, LEDs, cameras, motors, computer networking equipment, and IoT devices such as Amazon Alexa, Google Home, wireless speakers, IP cameras, environmental sensors, Wi-Fi lights & outlets, home control systems, etc. Students from any discipline are encouraged to join, and learn how to create cool projects that use some or all of these components.

Meeting times: TBD

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Tony Sena gsena@massbay.edu

Investment Club

The Investment Club will teach students how to manage 401Ks and IRAs, understand the stock market, and give a comprehensive explanation of stocks, bonds, and cash equivalents. This knowledge aids students to build a strong financial foundation that can grow in the future.

Meeting times: Every other Monday 1-2pm in the Business Center

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Andrew Wrobel awrobel@massbay.edu 

President  Reilly Edelman r_edelman@massbay.edu 

Vice President  Azalea Rodas a_rodas@massbay.edu

MassBay EMS Student Council Association (MESCA)

This club will provide education, guest lectures, community outreach and population health management projects for EMT and paramedic students. Our goal is to expand upon our role as critical public safety agents who deliver exceptional pre-hospital emergency medicine, public health education and outreach and population health management programs to the communities we serve through leadership, compassion, patient advocacy, preparedness, integrity, pride, and clinical excellence. 

*MESCA is based on the Framingham Campus*

Meeting times: Every Wednesday 3-5pm in the EMS Lab Room 118 

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Joe Murphy jmurphy@massbay.edu

President — John McCarey j_mccarey@massbay.edu  

MassBay Veterans Club

The purpose of this organization is to unite students with the common goal of looking after the personal, academic and social wellbeing of MassBay Veterans of the United States Armed Services.  The club is open to Veterans, National Guard, Reservists, Active Duty, and spouses/family members.

Meeting times: First Tuesday of every month from 4-5pm (Starting October 4th)

Club Contacts:

Advisor — John Martin jmartin@massbay.edu 

Co-Advisor — Anna Pilkington apilkington@massbay.edu

President — John Kirk j_kirk2@massbay.edu

Vice President —  Meghan Carroll m_carroll13@massbay.edu  

Nursing Clubs

Pre-Nursing Club

Pre-Nursing Club is aimed toward any student interested in nursing or already on the nursing track. Pre-Nursing Club is based on the Wellesley Campus.

Meeting Times: TBD

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Aaron Riobe ariobe@massbay.edu

Co-Advisor — Deborah O'Dowd  dodowd@massbay.edu

President — Laiz Martins l_martins2@massbay.edu 

 

Nursing Students' Club

The Nursing Students Club will facilitate and engage in acts of service in both the MBCC and local communities, allowing members to develop positive skills and attributes as they prepare to enter the nursing profession. In addition, the Nursing Students Club will be a supportive network in which students can discuss the challenges of nursing school and resources available to them, aiding members to be successful in reaching their academic and professional nursing goals. 

*The Nursing Students' Club is aimed towards students enrolled in an ADN or PN Program, and is based in Framingham Campus.*

Meeting times: First Monday of every Month (see the Student Events Calendar for details)

*Upcoming* 12/7 in Framingham Auditorium (Holiday Party)

Club Contacts:

Advisors — Alicia Layne ADN Program alayne@massbay.edu

                   Deborah O'Dowd PN Program dodowd@massbay.edu

President — Amanda LaRosee ADN 23  a_larosee1@massbay.edu

Vice President —  Jeanette Reichenbach ADN 24 j_reichenbach@massbay.edu 

PN Liaison — Amanda gates PN a_gates1@massbay.edu

Secretary/ Treasurer — Nephthalie Dejeanlouis PN n_dejeanlouis@massbay.edu

Historians — Anthony Panarelli ADN 0524 a_panarelli@massbay.edu

                     Naomi Kiemeuwa ADN 24 n_kiemeuwa@massbay.edu

Rad Tech Visions 

The purpose of the Rad Tech Visions Club is to bring current MassBay Rad Tech students together to actively participate in school events, provide community services for what we believe in, and bring health awareness to our community.

*Rad Tech Visions is based on the Framingham Campus*

Meeting times: Weekly on Mondays from 6-7pm 

Club Contacts:

Club Advisor — Karen Hansen – khansen@massbay.edu

President — Alexis Wright a_wright6@massbay.edu

Vice President — Hayley Mische  h_mische@massbay.edu 

Rotaract Club

The Rotaract club provides students with the opportunity to exchange ideas with leaders in the community, develop leadership and professional skills, and have fun through service. The Rotaract Club provides students with professional development opportunities in conjunction with the Wellesley Rotary Club and through providing service to the community.

Meeting times: Wednesdays at 12:30pm

Club Contacts:

Club Advisor — Julie Ginn jginn@massbay.edu

Academic Advisor — Aaron Riobe ariobe@massbay.edu  

President — Hamson Shobande h_shobande@massbay.edu 

SABOR Club

SABOR (Students Advocating for Bold Opportunities & Representation) Club's mission is to build a strong community that is proud to share their cultures and be more open to learning about the Latinx & Portuguese experience in higher-education and their representation in the media. Club SABOR will serve students by creating a safe place to: express themselves fully and find additional resources, scholarships, and job opportunities afforded to Latinx and Portuguese students.

Meeting times: TBD

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Erika Reyes ereyes@massbay.edu

President — Ashanty Valentin a_valentin2@massbay.edu 

Vice President — Marilyn Machuca m_machuca@massbay.edu

Unified Basketball

The Unified Basketball Club brings together students with and without disabilities to build an inclusive and fun environment to play basketball. 

Meeting times: Mondays and Thursdays 1-2pm

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Phoebe Bustamante pbustamante@massbay.edu

President — Radley Theolien r_theolien@massbay.edu

Vice President — Connor Morton c_morton@massbay.edu  

ValourTones

Singers Assemble! If you love singing and you have a passion for it, this is the place for you! We have amazing advisors, directors, and it's pretty much meant for stress-reliever for your classes. However, this is a mid-commitment club if you ever join (we meet Thursdays and Sundays normally but if we fall behind, then it could be up to the directors to schedule quick rehearsals!)

Meeting times: TBD

Club Contacts:

Advisor — Aaron Riobe ariobe@massbay.edu

President — Jacob Francis j_francis6@massbay.edu