You are here

Athletics

MassBay offers intercollegiate, intramural competition as well as recreation and wellness activities that supports your goals as a student – from our championship-winning men's basketball and golf teams to our new women's volleyball team to recreational yoga and wellness programs. Through athletics, we develop responsibility, integrity, perseverance and sportsmanship. Maintaining this balance between academics and athletics is a challenge that teaches commitment and self-discipline.

Prospective Athlete Questionnaire

Buccaneer Varsity Sports (NJCAA DIII - Region XXI):

 

  • Men's Soccer
  • Women's Cross Country
  • Men's Cross Country
  • Women's Volleyball
  • Men's Basketball
  • Baseball
  • Golf

 

For the latest updates on MassBay Athletics, please follow the Bucs on Twitter: @MassBayBucs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sports 2018 Updates (as of 11/13)

 

  • Men's Soccer finished their impressive season winning the regular season title and placing 2nd in the Region XXI playoffs.
  • Men's Soccer freshman Farley Asmath led Region 21 in goals (20) and points (45). The complete leaderboard is HERE.
  • Women's Volleyball played their first-ever home match earlier this fall. You can watch all the action vs. NECC HERE. They finished their season as the #3 team in Region 21.
  • Men's and Women's Cross Country teams are going to the National meet on Saturday at Stanley Park in Westfield, MA! Full results from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association are HERE.
  • Men's Basketball opened their season on Nov. 3 with a win @ Kingsborough CC. They started league play on Nov. 6 with another win @ Quinsigamond CC. The Bucs are 2-2 heading into tonight against Holyoke CC.

 

MassBay Teams
 

Fall

 

Men’s Soccer

Schedule Roster / Results

 

Women’s Volleyball

Schedule / Roster / Results

 

Men’s and Women’s Cross Country

Schedule

 

Winter

 

Men’s Basketball

Schedule Roster / Results

 

Spring

 

Baseball

Schedule / Roster / Results

 

Golf

Schedule / Roster / Results

 

 

Coaches Contact Information

Athletic Department
Director of Athletics: Adam Nelson anelson@massbay.edu
781-239-2664
Assistant Director of Athletics: Slader Lyell slyell@massbay.edu
401-418-2642

Baseball
Head Coach: Ed Neal eneal@massbay.edu
617-842-0548
Assistant Coach: Jerome Hicks jhicks@massbay.edu
617-307-2882

Men’s Basketball
Head Coach: Robert Hunter r_hunter@massbay.edu
508-424-8825
Assistant Coach: Evan O’Brien eobrien1@massbay.edu
781-239-2668
Assistant Coach: A.J. Stephens astephens@massbay.edu
781-239-2668

Men’s & Women’s Cross Country
Head Coach: Evan O'Brien eobrien1@massbay.edu
781-239-2668

Men’s Golf
Head Coach: Slader Lyell slyell@massbay.edu
401-418-2642

Women’s Volleyball
Head Coach: Nasser Balinda nbalinda@massbay.edu
781-228-9603
Assistant Coach: Maddy Caughey mcaughey@massbay.edu
781-239-2668

Men’s Soccer
Head Coach: Braima Samati bsamati@massbay.edu
857-269-6954
Assistant Coach: TBA

 

MassBay Athletics EADA Report

2017

2016

2015