Academic Achievement Center at MassBay

Welcome to MassBay Community College.

Placement Testing

Welcome to Placement Testing!

Prepare for the Placement Test:       Placement Workshops     

You are on your way to becoming a MassBay student! Taking the placement tests helps determine which levels of math and English you will enroll in when beginning your studies at MassBay. The College offers a variety of accelerated, self-paced, and traditional classes that will meet your needs and learning style.
The computerized Accuplacer exam is a three-hour test for native English speakers consisting of writing, reading comprehension, and mathematics. Another option is the English as a Second Language (ESL) test, which includes sections on writing, reading, and language usage.  ESL students also take the math placement test. ESL students enrolling in college classes should come to a Placement Testing Date to take the AccuPlacer ESL test. Those interested in our Community ESL program should contact and attend a placement test and information session with the Center for Corporate Training and Community Education. Please visit for more information.

Placement Test Dates

Wellesley Hills Campus:
Wednesday, October 14, 10:00AM-11:00AM, W306
Monday, October 26, 3:00PM-4:00PM, W314
Tuesday, November 10, 10:00AM-11:00AM, W210
Monday, December 7, 3:00PM-4:00PM, W314
Wednesday, January 6, 3:00PM-4:00PM ROOM TBA

Thursday, October 15, 11:00PM-1:00PM, W322
Wednesday, October 28, 2:00PM-4:00PM, W316
Wednesday, November 18, 11:00AM-1:00PM, W210
Thursday, December 10, 2:00PM-4:00PM, W310
Tuesday, January 5, 6:00PM-8:00PM,ROOM TBA
Monday, January 11, 10:00AM-12:00PM, ROOM TBA

Thursday, October 15, 2:00PM-4:00PM, W310
Wednesday, October 28, 1:00PM-3:00PM, W309
Wednesday, November 18, 2:00PM-4:00PM, W316
Wednesday, December 9, 12:00PM-2:00PM, W411
Monday, January 11, 6:00PM-8:00PM, ROOM TBA


Framingham Campus:
Tuesday, October 20, 10:00AM-11:00AM, F323
Thursday, November 5, 4:00PM-5:00PM, F323
Tuesday, November 17, 4:00PM-5:00PM, F323
Saturday, December 5, 10:00AM-11:00AM, F323

Thursday, October 8, 1:00PM-3:00PM, F323
Monday, October 19, 2:00PM-4:00PM, F323
Thursday, November 19, 12:30PM-2:30PM, F323
Wednesday, December 2, 6:00PM-8:00PM, F323
Tuesday, December 8, 2:00PM-4:00PM, F323

Wednesday, December 2, 2:00PM-4:00PM, F322
Thursday, December 10, 9:00AM-11:00AM, F323
Tuesday, January 12, 2:00PM-4:00PM, ROOM TBA

Click here to register for placement testing  

Questions? Please give us a call at 781-239-2620 or email

Ready for the next step?

SOAR (Student Orientation Advising and Registration) is the next step, please visit for more information and to sign-up for an Orientation.